Something warm and fuzzy for your tummy

           A fluffy egg omelet with a tasty mediterranean salsa

There is nothing quite like some good warming comfort food when it’s been raining all day, and you come home with damp clothes and soggy shoes. My ideal comfort food is my Mum’s chicken casserole but due to a rather challenging distance of transit I am unable to indulge in this, and fear that if she did send some  to me it would arrive a tad mouldy and many days too late for my comfort needs 😦  

 I have to be honest ‘Bangers and Mash’ were originally on the menu for this sunday eve, but alas the good old omelet won out in the end. 

Now, there was a time when I was completely incapable of cooking an omelet. I know, how hard can it be? well that’s what I thought but each time I attempted the perfectly cooked, half-moon, golden, fluffy goodness, I just ended up with a fry pan of scrambled eggs. But now, well now I have achieved what was once an impossible task, and I would like to share in my delight. I may be biased but I think my omelet is pretty damn good, in fact I could possibly eat in for days in a row- except I’m not really sure how happy my digestive system would be if I fed it 2 eggs everyday, but if you are feeling the need for some tasty comfort food then why not try this……..

Ingredients:  2 eggs (yes I know it’s usually 3 but I think 2 is quite enough), splash of milk, cheese, salt and pepper. And for the salsa- tomatoes either cherry cut in half or a salad tomato roughly diced, a yellow or orange pepper, olives,  and shake of capers, minced garlic, chorizo, and a generous slice of butter, and  not to forget a sprinkle of smoked paprika.

Method: Start by preparing the eggs- simple obviously- cracked into your favorite mixing bowl, add a splash of milk and season well with salt and pepper. Now whisk with a fork until all mixed and golden.

Right, nows it’s the best bit- preparing the salsa and trying very hard not to nibble on all the ingredients before they reach the fry pan.

Chop your tomato and pepper. Cut olives in half and roughly slice the chorizo, of course 1/4 of your chorizo will end up in your mouth at this point, so head back to the fridge and grab a little more  (I could insert a pic of me eating the chorizo here but I shall hold back). Heat your fry pan (or small saucepan if you only have one fry pan as you will need it for the omelet) with a little oil. Drop about 1/2 a teaspoon of ‘Lazy Garlic’ – the ready minced, jarred variety into the hot oil, now throw all of the chopped ingredients in along with the capers, a shake of smoked paprika and the butter. Of course you don’t have to add butter if your being a little more health conscious, but I think all comfort food deserves to be indulged with a little (or a lot) of lovely butter.  Now let this soften and all the flavours mingle and merge on a medium heat while you cook your omelet.

Ok, heat a frying pan with a generous amount of vegetable or sunflower oil. Once it’s hot add the egg mix, swirling the fry pan to gently enable the mixture to cover the entire surface of the pan. Grab a handful of cheese (cheddar and a little mozzarella work well) and sprinkle over half of the omelet. Once the eggs appear to be almost cooked through grab your egg flip and gently but triumphantly flip half over onto the other half, encasing the melting gooey cheese and leaving you with  a perfect half-moon. Leave it cook for a minute or two just to ensure it has completely cooked together. Slide out onto your plate and top with the salsa.

Now you can curl up on the sofa with your favorite sunday eve TV rubbish and enjoy 🙂

4 thoughts on “Something warm and fuzzy for your tummy

    1. Thanks for the comment Susan. I like to think chorizo goes well with most things and undoubtedly with eggs! Im sure I will have plenty of yummy eats with chorizo to share soon.

Leave a Reply

