Lemon Curd

I have just had a wonderful relaxed weekend complete with a friends baby shower, my recent read ‘The Women Who Went to Bed For a Year’ by Sue Townsend- which I have to add I am throughly enjoying, Sex and the City (guilty pleasure Saturday night viewing) and a sunday afternoon cooking in the kitchen listening to old school rock and roll. I decided I had to make a batch of Lemon Curd, not for any other reason than nostalgia. Having not made it before I followed a very simple recipe from Nigel Slater which I shall detail below, and the end product is now in my fridge at risk of my attack with a table-spoon at midnight.

Ingredients:

 -Zest and juice of 4 unwaxed lemons, I found this to be 200ml of juice

– 200g sugar, I used raw cane sugar

– 100g butter cut into cubes, I chose to use unsalted, however Nigel’s recipe did not specify 

 -3 eggs and 1 egg yolk

This made 2 small jars of curd- lucky I hoard my old jars for this very purpose.

Method:

Take a medium heat proof bowl and set over a pan of simmering water, ensure the bottom of the bowel is clear of the water.  Pour the lemon juice, lemon rind, ensure no bitter white flesh goes in, just the bright yellow rind, sugar and butter. Stir with a whisk occasionally until the butter and sugar melt into the juice. Nigel advises to use a whisk instead of spoon, as the end product will be a little lighter and wobblier, instead of heavy.

Now you will need to whisk the eggs and extra yolk with a fork and then add to the lemon mix. Now is the point when the curd will develop into a custardy consistency. Ensure the water is still simmering, stir almost continuously with the whisk until the mixture becomes thick and heavy against the whisk. This part took me a little longer than Nigel’s 10 mins, but I certainly knew when it was ready.

Remove the bowl from the heat and set aside, stir from time to time as it cools a little. Now you will need to take you sterilised jars. It’s important to use a sterilised jar, so the curd will keep fresh in the fridge for a couple of weeks. Heres how I sterilised my jar.

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius. Place 2 folded sheets of baking paper on an oven try in the middle of the oven. Place the jar/s onto the tray with their lids and leave to heat for about 30 mins. You can get this going as your prepping your Curd ingredients.

Once the Curd is ready to be jarred, carefully remove from the oven with some protection for you fingers of course, pour the Curd between the jar/s and place the lid on tightly, set aside for a while to cool further before putting into the cold fridge. Remember never pour hot mix into a cold jar, and vice versa, it will only end in tears!

Now enjoy, on toast, with yoghurt, in a cake, on a scone….or just from the spoon 😉

Nigel’s recipe can be found here:  http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2010/mar/07/nigel-slater-lemon-curd-recipes

6 thoughts on “Lemon Curd

Leave a Reply

